Bangor’s Official Historic Tours

What was there? What happened here?

Our Historic Walking Tours tell the tales of the Bangor Region and its people. Led by guides who have a passion for the Queen City’s history, you’ll learn little known facts and details that will open your eyes to pieces of the past.

Tours last approximately 90 minutes and are $10 per person.

We’re adding 2016 tour dates now. To purchase tickets online, please click on the tour title.

Book your group tour NOW by clicking here.

2016 Guided Walking Tours

Mount Hope Cemetery

Learn little known facts about some of Bangor’s famous—and infamous– residents during our 90-minute guided tour. Hear about the importance of symbolism in the gravestones and get a chance to take in some of the city’s beautiful vistas.

Built in 1834, Bangor’s 300 acre Mount Hope Cemetery is the nation’s second oldest garden cemetery. It was designed by renowned architect Charles G. Bryant as part of a national movement to provide respite from grassless urban landscapes. Garden cemeteries were created as much for living as for those who had passed on.

2016 Mount Hope Cemetery Tour Dates:
Saturday, June 11 10am; Saturday, June 18 10am; Sunday, June 19 1pm; Saturday, July 9 10am; Saturday, July 23 10am; Saturday, July 30 6pm; Sunday, August 7 1pm; Saturday, August 20 10am; Saturday, Sept 10 10am; Sunday, September 25 1pm

Click here to purchase tickets for the Mount Hope Cemetery Walking Tour.

More Mount Hope

NEW FOR 2016
We couldn’t fit all of the tales of those who rest in Mount Hope Cemetery into one tour, so, we’ve created a tour that tells more of the story. If you’ve already taken our original Mount Hope Cemetery Tour this tour is filled with new information and sites that will help you learn even more about one of our region’s most beautiful and serene places. Haven’t taken the first Mount Hope tour? That’s ok! This tour simply features different stories from the original tour. No experience required!

2016 More Mount Hope Cemetery Tour Dates:
Saturday, June 11  6pm; Tuesday, June 28   6pm; Saturday, July 16  10am; Sunday, July 17  1pm; Tuesday, July 26  6pm;
Saturday, August 13   10am; Tuesday, August 30   6pm; Tuesday, Sept 13   5:30pm; Saturday, Sept 17  5:30pm; Thursday, Sept 29   5:30pm

Click here to purchase tickets for the More Mount Hope Cemetery Walking Tour.

Historic Bangor 101

NEW FOR 2016
Bangor is a city rich in history, mystery and powerful events. Perched on the edge of the Maine North Woods and a one-time important harbor, Bangor’s history is filled with tales of lumber barons who struck it rich from her natural resources as well as shipping magnates and manufacturing pioneers. Historic Bangor 101 tells the stories of our first settlers, the greatest disaster in U.S. Naval History (until Pearl Harbor),  the British Occupation during the War of 1812, the Great Fire of 1911 and so much more.

2016 Historic Bangor 101 Tour Dates:
Saturday, June 18, 6pm; Saturday, June 25th, 6pm; Saturday, July 9, 6pm; Saturday, August 6, 10am; Tuesday, August 23, 6pm; Saturday, September 10 5pm

Click here to purchase tickets for Historic Bangor 101 Walking Tour.

 

Great Fire of 1911

In April, 1911 a spark in a riverside hay shed ignited a fire that devastated much of Bangor’s downtown and threatened many of her neighborhoods. Join us as we follow the flames’ path and learn which structures survived and how Bangor and her people recovered from the devastation.

Click here to purchase tickets for the Great Fire of 1911 Walking Tour.

Devil’s Half Acre

Even though Maine enacted a Prohibitory Law in 1851, Bangor didn’t comply. In the area known as the “Devil’s Half Acre” saloons & brothels reigned and vice & violence thrived.

Led by the city’s most notorious Madam, Fan Jones, this tour shines a light on Bangor’s wicked side and tells the tales of the people who are just as much a part of the city’s history as those who lived in the majestic homes on Broadway.

2016 Tour Devil’s Half Acre Tour Dates:
Thursday, June 9 6pm; Thursday, June 30 6pm; Wednesday, July 13 6pm; Saturday, July 23 6pm; Saturday, August 13 6pm; Tuesday, August 16 6pm; Saturday, September 3 6pm; Thursday, September 15 5:30pm; Tuesday, September 20 5:30pm

Click here to purchase tickets for the Devil’s Half Acre Walking Tour.

Bangor’s Historic Architecture

Bangor’s landscape is filled with examples of the work of some of America’s greatest architects.  This stroll through the Queen City’s neighborhoods offers a different perspective on her history.

One date only: Saturday, September 17 CANCELLED

Ghostly Bangor

Ghostly Bangor features tales veiled in unsolved mysteries, murder and the past residents who may still linger in the Queen City.
*This tour is only available as a public tour in the month of October.

 

Bangor’s Official Historic Tours are possible thanks to the generous support of:

bsbcolor

Private/Group Tours Available

The Bangor Historical Society offers private tours for groups and schools, as well as for families and friends who may not be able to attend one of our regular tour dates.  All of our regular tours are available as private/group options. We also offer combination packages. Click here for more information.

Want to explore Bangor on your own? Download one of our guides and make your way around the city.

Get the guide — Thank you to the City of Bangor Historic Preservation Commission for allowing us to share this guide.

More guides coming soon!